2013: Momentum Builds

Posted: March 4, 2013 in Equipment, Queries and Revelations, races
Tags: , , , ,

Apologies for the radio silence over the past month – 2013 is already super busy!  Here’s a quick recap before we get into the nitty-gritty on Saturday’s Peak Snowshoe Race.

After the Polar Bear, I finally managed to get a consultation scheduled with a physical therapist regarding my IT band issue.  My primary care phys. concluded that it really is honest “ITB Syndrome,” and referred me to PT.  Thankfully, my health insurance covers all but the $20/visit co-pay, so this isn’t too much of a yank on my finances.

I’ve gone to see my PT 4 times, and we’ve worked on loosening the tissue with rolling, stretching, and massaging, as well as some abdominal exercises to support my hips, and other things to engage and loosen my hamstrings.  The results are clear though, as I’m now able to run 2.5miles on the road before stiffness sets in my left ITB (read: stiffness, NOT pain!), and more often I’ve been able to stretch partway through and just keep going problem-free.  Additionally, it doesn’t hurt like heck every time I try to roll my ITB, which shows marked improvement. I’ve got one more scheduled appointment with the PT today, then we’ll decide future actions.

Now, onto this weekend!

Back in October, some Spartan friends decided to sign up for a snowshoe race being put on in Pittsfield by the same folks who run the Death Race – Peak Races (This is also the more independent race company of Spartan founders Joe Desena and Andy Weinberg).  We thought it would be challenging and fun to do the double 10k loop and make it the first half marathon of the year – the snow was bound to be well-packed by the ultra-marathoners before us, right?  No problem.

Fast-forward to Saturday morning: Snow fell in large quantities over the past couple weeks, so the course (aka: mountain trail) promised to be one for which you’d honestly need snowshoes.  Still, the temperature forecast said 30’s, so we weren’t too worried about needing heavy layering gear.  Additionally, my race partner-in-crime, Aja, was getting sick, so we planned to take it easy.  We went out with heavy wool socks, mid-height snow boots, insulated winter tights, and various appropriate upper layers. Aja’s personal Outdoor Equipment Guru, Hans, outfitted us with Kahtoola snowshoes – hands-down the best pair I’ve tried in my life (seriously: ditch the LLBeans and the Tubbs before you hurt yourself – Kahtoola is INCREDIBLE).

Aja and Me Pre-Race, looking super sporty.

Aja and Me Pre-Race, looking super sporty.

Once on course, however, I began to realize our mistake in skipping the outer leg layer.  While exertion kept my muscles toasty, and the boot insulation and wool socks kept my feet warm at first, I had grossly misjudged the level of powder still flying on the trail.  Snow packed in around the ankles in my boots, and slipped into the foot area where it quickly melted.  By mile 3, my left foot was soaked, and my right getting damp.  Now, if you know anything about cold-weather survival, you know this is bad – potentially very very bad.  Once you’re wet in the winter, frostbite doesn’t wait long to set-in.  Thankfully, we were able to pick up the pace, as the remainder of the first loop was downhill.  At about 2 miles remaining, though, I noticed a distinctly uncomfortable chill in my toes, and knew I had to get back to dry gear immediately.  So, I did something I tell myself I’ll never do: I left my running buddy behind (with her permission), and pelted down the mountain at break-neck speed.  With the exception of one spectacular face-plant, I made it back in record time.  Good thing, too, as I poured freezing water from my boots, and wrung out my sopping wet socks, I knew I wouldn’t have been in good shape if I’d taken any longer.  I managed to avoid damage, but only just.

Once in dry socks and goretex trail shoes, I considered heading out for the second loop, but quickly dismissed the idea as I realized I just didn’t have the right footwear.  Could my body have handled it? Absolutely, without question.  Would I have been happy with the result?  Probably not.  Without gaiters, I would be tempting frostbite on an unnecessary level, and I’m not willing to risk my toes!

I sucked it up, and accepted that a 10k on snowshoes up and down a mountain would be an adequate second race for 2013.  We still got badass medals (the same ones we’d get for he half-marathon, too, so I didn’t feel too bad), and all the usual race swag, so I’m pretty pleased in the end.

Peak Race Swag: Shirt, Hat, Patch, Bib, and Medal.  Not pictured: minty chapstick from EMS.

Peak Race Swag: Shirt, Hat, Patch, Bib, and Medal. Not pictured: minty chapstick from EMS.

Additionally, the course scenery and weather were gorgeous, and we met some pretty excellent individuals.  For most of the uphill trek, we trudged behind a 50-something gentleman I could only describe as “Triathlete” – the man had the most amazing hamstrings I’ve seen (what else was I going to look at, huh?), and kept the steadiest pace up some pretty brutal inclines.  That, and the fact that he was so courteous and knowledgable about the terrain, was a dead giveaway that this guy was in it for the long haul.  When I asked him his distance, he casually replied “I’m in it for the 100.”  One. Hundred. Miles.  On snowshoes, up and down a mountain for two days.  I bow to you, Mr Ultra Pace Man, as a pinnacle of dedication and epic achievement.  

Yep, the truth is written in the snow 2 miles up!

Yep, the truth is written in the snow 2 miles up!

In all, it was a great experience, and we plan to regroup and attempt the half (or full?  Is that possible?) marathon next year, provided we prepare proper footwear and set out fully healthy.

Panorama at the Peak

Panorama at the Peak

On deck for the future:  Montreal Sprint is at the end of May, I may also do the Tri-State sprint in NY in June, Amesbury in August, NJ Super in early September, and the Beast at the end of September.  I want to do a bunch of little mud runs and obstacle races locally, too, but those dates and costs will have to wait for my finances to solidify.

Personally, I’m in an awesome/weird/insanely busy point in my life.  There’s a full time 5/6 classroom position opening up in my school for the fall, and I have to apply.

I love my new car, Fezziwig: the Chili Red (with black roof & bonnet stripes) Mini Cooper Hardtop <3

I love my new car, Fezziwig: the Chili Red (with black roof & bonnet stripes) Mini Cooper Hardtop ❤

I just bought my first car (leased, but still, it’s MINE!), a 2013 Mini Cooper Hardtop, and Steve and I are beginning the plunge into wedding planning for 2014.  The newest feature of my current teaching job is that I’m helping start the Girls on the Run program at our school.  We’ve got a great mix of women leading this group, from a new runner, to experienced moms, to me with my off-the-wall race menu.  It’ll be exciting to get girls interested in getting out and active in a way I never appreciated as a kid myself.

In all, I’m stressed out but somehow holding it all together for the benefit of how wonderful life is right now.  I wake up in the morning exhilarated and determined, and crash into bed fully spent every night.  I’ve made gains in climbing, I’m back on track with running regularly, and I’m taking care of myself physically, personally, and professionally.   I have the car of my dreams, a loving fiancee, a tight group of friends, and attainable goals.  I plan on this being yet another banner year, so be prepared.

Climb-on, Stacey!

 

Leave a comment